RSS

Morning Tea & Rocakes! How going natural brought me closer to God..

11 Apr

I know, I know, you’ve probably never heard anyone say that God told them to go natural. Well, that’s my story and I’m sticking to it. In 2003 I remember it clear as day, I was waking up to get ready to go to work with my long silky hair comfortable in a wrap and scarf and suddenly I heard the Holy Spirit say, no more relaxers, it’s time for you to go natural…huh!? ‘Natural,” I yelled out loud, Oh no, no way, I loved my long, silky hair. I had always felt so beautiful with it, I had always received so many compliments on it; “How do you grow it so long?” they would ask. I was so proud. There was no way I was giving that up!  After a back and forth battle with the Lord accompanied with breakage and damage and a life turning event, I finally decided to BC. And of course I felt like the ugliest person in the world. I defined my beauty by my long hair and without it, I was nothing. Well, that is until, I began studying and learning more about Christ. I then began to feel beautiful realizing the love he had for me, how he made me, why he made me, how he sees me. I began to actually see myself the same way. Nothing sparks more conversations about Christ then my natural hair…I tell people, yeah I can’t take credit, the Lord did this! God Bless!

Love Rocakes,

xoxoxo

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 11, 2011 in The af-RO Socialite

 

One response to “Morning Tea & Rocakes! How going natural brought me closer to God..

  1. aishahasina

    April 12, 2011 at 4:39 pm

    Thanks for sharing your testimony. I love my natural hair.

     

Leave a Reply

 
